“Traveling is like flirting with life. It’s like saying, ‘I would stay and love you, but I have to go; this is my station.’” – Lisa St. Aubin de Teran


In the studio the past few weeks I have been working with sketches and photographs taken from a trip to New York over Summer, at first I was mainly focused on the structures of the buildings, the shapes of the sky scrapers and their relationships to each other but as I move forward with my work I have been thinking a lot more about how I can tell a story, how I can bring my love/desire to travel into my work. My first attempt at this was to use old tickets and maps to make some paper samples…

  

  

I want to keep it delicate but structured and introduce texture/pattern…little details that keep people interested.

So for the past few weeks I have been fighting with context and experimenting with materials. I hope to get on the laser cutter next week and do a bit of photo etching and I plan to have at least 10 decent samples by the end of the week. So we’ll see where that takes me.

 

kM

Leave a Reply

